Home > cats, general, motherhood, randoms > Today’s Random Thoughts

Today’s Random Thoughts

Today’s post will be some of my random thoughts and happenings…

– My allergies are killing me this morning. Does one built up a tolerance or immunity to the dose of an allergy pill? Mine do not seem to make much of a dent anymore.  I managed to sneeze myself into a headache, this morning. I bet I sneezed 10 times in a row. Now, I have the drippy nose. So annoying! When will the allergies go away? Usually I have Spring allergies from late February through mid-June. This year is so different. I am still suffering. It’s mid-July. I’m just tired of it, over it.

– I received another letter from Taelor, yesterday. She is doing well in South Carolina. She actually likes boot camp. What, is she nuts? I swear she is not my child. I am glad she is doing well and enjoying all of the physical activity. She misses some foods. She made a list of all the foods she wants to eat when she gets home in early September. Burgers and fries were on the top of the list. I reckon I can swing that.

– I have a sweet and understanding Husband. I’m lucky. Last night, we were both sitting on the couch, immersed in our laptops. Hubby asks me, “Hey, do you like this color?” It was a golden yellow color of YARN. I said yes. What’s not to love? He didn’t mention it again. I did not think too much of it after that. This morning, in a text, Hubby said that my yarn should arrive here, by early next week. Ummm…what yarn, I had to ask. I was confused and had already forgotten. So, Hubby ordered some yarn for me. Isn’t that the sweetest? My guess, it is a belated birthday present.

– Today is an anniversary of sorts. Not necessarily a happy one, but I do observe it yearly. Today, 17 years ago I was diagnosed as a Type 1 Diabetic. I had just turned 20. My doctors, at the time, were baffled on why I ended up with “juvenile diabetes” at that age. No one could figure it out. I have no family history. Relatively healthy and I weighed 125 lbs at the time. I got sick quite suddenly. I just felt awful one day…thought I had a flu-type thing going on. It progressed to other symptoms and I ended up in the ER. At the time, I did not know much of anything about diabetes. I had heard of it, in passing. So, I had to learn everything. Injecting myself with insulin was the worst thing ever, at first. Not being able to eat what I wanted, when I wanted was second worst. Low blood sugar episodes are also awful. 17 years later…I have managed to live with the disease, for the most part. I still dislike it. It disrupts my life. I still resent things about it, etc. I now have other health issues that are directly related to my diabetes. I have my good days and my bad days.

– Recently my 15 year old daughter has asked me about birth control. I am SO not ready to deal with this whole idea. She promised me that she is not having sex yet. She was just discussing with me the whole idea of protecting herself for when she does want to. I want to hold my hand over my ears and repeat, “No, no, no!” I had better get with the program. She will eventually “do it” whether I agree with it or not. I have always been open about sex with my daughters. We discuss it, talk about what could happen, how to protect oneself, etc. I don’t wish for my daughters to end up as a teen pregnancy statistic, like I did. I have no regrets about having Taelor at age 17. I want my girls to have choices that I did not have, is all. Did I mention…I am not ready for this, with my youngest daughter?

– Knitting. Well, I have taken to knitting on personal projects in the evenings now. I sleep much better, thank you. I had issues with turning my brain off at night. I would obsess over design ideas or mistakes instead of sleeping. I now save the designing and sample knitting for the mornings. I like this schedule much better. I am hoping to get more done this way. More productive, maybe? We shall see…

– Lately, a kitty has been visiting me. He’s been around for several years. Sometimes I won’t see him for months and then he just pops in. He sits on my back patio and stares at me through the glass door. Often he will tap the glass to get my attention. He wants me to come outside and pet him. A few times, the cat even trots into my apartment and partakes in my cats food dish. He is extremely friendly and sweet. I know he belongs to someone around here. He wears a collar and his tag says his name is “Elvis.” This makes me giggle. He does not seem like an Elvis. He is a beautiful brown, multi-colors of browns/black Maine Coon. He is large and a fluff ball. I want to take him in and keep him all to myself. He is also “fixed” which is a good thing. Elvis has visited me twice in the past week. He likes my scratches, I guess. When he left…I told Hannah, the youngest, “Elvis has left the building!” We had some laughs over that.

– What is up with the weather in the Pacific NW right now. Clouds, rain and cool. We have yet to reach 90 degrees this Summer. I suppose I shouldn’t complain about that, because I HATE the heat. It’s been in the 60’s mostly here the past week. We did reach 71 yesterday afternoon…and humid. It even rained for a short time. Summer is usually our dry season…and it will not rain until September, sometimes. Just an odd year all around, for the weather. I am guessing this is why my allergies are all wonky too.

Well, that is all I have in my head for this morning. I have some work to do. House cleaning stuff first. Then some design knitting. Is it the weekend yet?

Categories: cats, general, motherhood, randoms
  1. July 15, 2011 at 10:34 am

    random hugs for random thoughts

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

