Home > general, knitting, WIPs > Summer Of The Shawl

Summer Of The Shawl

I have been knitting over the past weekend. Mostly on a new sock sample for a new design…and on my red Vlad Shawl. I have knitted about 5 and a half repeat of the body portion of the shawl, in this photo. There are 7 total repeats in the shawl, before the edging begins. Almost done.

I really like knitting on this shawl. It isn’t as confusing and hard as I thought it was, when I first started on it. The pattern still takes a bit of concentration to knit. The yarn is enjoyable to work with, as well. I bought the skein of Knit Picks Gloss Lace with some Christmas money I had, two years ago. It had been sitting in my stash for that long, waiting for me to find a lace shawl pattern to be knitted into. I am quite pleased with how the shawl is coming along.

~knock on wood~ There have been no mistakes in my lace knitting…yet!

I’ve probably just jinxed it.

So, I am calling this my Summer Of Shawls. I have never been one for lace shawls. Not my style. It just wasn’t an interest for me, as a knitter. I always thought of little old ladies with the shawl-wearing. For some reason lace shawls have become my summer obsession this year. I can’t explain it. Maybe it’s the intricate lace that is attracting me, lately? I love wearing triangular neck scarves, though…so I like the smaller lace shawls for that purpose.

After I complete the above lace shawl I want to make two more shawls. Yes, you read that one right. More shawls! What is wrong with me?

I recently won a lovely skein of Lucy’s Laceweight yarn. I did a search on Ravelry on what to make with this new skein of yarn. I have decided on knitting Citron, from Knitty Winter 2009, with the yarn. Again…a small shawl neck scarf type pattern. I will probably begin this one after completing Vlad. We will see how much time I can allot for personal knitting. Personal knitting as opposed to design sample knitting. I have plenty of that going in the background.

A second shawl I would like to knit soon is the Oaklet Shawl. I have a skein of Berroco Sox Metallic set aside for this one. Rather than knitting a pair of sparkly socks, I am aiming for a neck scarf/shawl.

With all of this lace shawl knitting…I should just take advantage of the obsession and design my own shawl. I am definitely inspired. My brain is beginning to turn…

What is your knitting obsession lately?

Today is another perfect Portland Summer day. 85° and sunshine galore. I love days like this. I love to take my knitting out on the patio… 🙂 Enjoy your day, everyone.

Categories: general, knitting, WIPs
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

