Home > domestic, general, knitting > Working On The Knits

Working On The Knits

Seriously, it’s been a rather boring day around here. I haven’t been online too much, either. I’m trying to finish some of the ongoing knitting project that I have right now. I work on one project, put it away and pick up another. I really need to pick a worsted weight and US #8 needle-type project next time. It goes so much faster, for me. Right now, I feel like I am in tiny knitting needle hell. It just never ends.

In this picture…I am knitting on a hat called Little Things. The bottom brim is knitted on US # 2 needles and the body of the hat is on US # 4. Very slow progress indeed. I am in no hurry to finish this hat. It is one of my leisure projects. I love the turquoise color.

The lace shawl (not shown) is driving me nuts. I want it to be finished already, but I still have a ways to go yet. Again, tiny needles and lace weight yarn. Soooo slow to show any form of progress. I am a fairly fast knitter. The 8 row repeat is taking me roughly 1.5 hours to do. The shawl gets bigger, I swear. I will take some progress photos tomorrow. It’s too overcast today to get any good lighting.

I am also working on a sock design at the moment. I must finish these socks in about a month. The colors are really much brighter than shown in the picture. I am calling these socks “Hard Candy.” They are set to be released in late August or early September. I am designing these for a knit-along on Ravelry. These socks are pretty loud, wacky and fun to knit, so far.

What else? Oh, I got my Oregon Grape Socks photo back from Knit Picks. I will be updating the PDF pattern with the new photo and sending the finished PDF back to Knit Picks tomorrow. I am sure the sock pattern will be released soon. I loved knitting and designing those socks too. The yarn was great and the color lovely. I will share more information on my socks design soon. Really soon.

In life stuff, my allergies are really bothering me, since yesterday. I slept awful…couldn’t breathe for most of the night. Wheezing, cough, sniffling, sneezing, the itch, watery eyes, etc. It’s just ridiculous. I’ve encountered two people, just today, that are complaining about their allergies too. So, it’s not just me. I admit, some days are worse than others, as far as allergies. Yesterday was one of the worst by far. I’ve had to wear my glasses a lot today for various reasons…and I have had to take them off every 5 minutes to wipe my eyes or blow my nose. 😦 Grrrrr…

I think I need a haircut again soon. Since I now have short hair…I like to keep it neat and really short. It’s a personal preference. Once my hair gets to a certain length, my curls come back. They get quite unruly too. You know, I really haven’t missed my long hair as much as I thought I would. Last June, I had hair almost to my waist. I was getting tired of it and chopped it off to my shoulders. I think I missed my long-long hair more when I cut it to my shoulders. Once I decided to cut that off too and go really short…I just decided that I wanted an easy haircut. I don’t miss my hair at all. I love the short hair. I love that I have saved money on hair products. Before, with my long hair…I would use one bottle of conditioner in less than a week. Now, with my short hair, I am using the same bottle of conditioner in the last month. I’ve probably save about $20 in the past month just on conditioner. 😀  Hey, it adds up over time.

Alright, I am ending this entry. It’s time to get up and begin preparing dinner. I’m making home-made burgers and fries. So healthy, I know. It sounded really good. Beef!

Categories: domestic, general, knitting
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

