Home > cats, general, knitting, randoms > Monday Randoms

Monday Randoms

It’s Monday. This means some random thoughts from my head…Pixie the cat is snoozing in the morning sunshine. I feel exactly the same way, this morning. S-L-E-E-P! Isn’t it cute how she sleeps on her cat pillow? I think so. She does this ALL the time.

– It’s official. This Spring has been one of the wettest in 117 years of record keeping in Portland. I could have told you that. Spring here pretty much sucked this year. Now, I am anxious to see what this Summer will be like. Cool, like last year? My mini-roses have kicked the bucket. The cool and wet Spring has finally done them in. It makes me a little sad. I loved those roses.

– For the next three days it will feel like Summer around here. (Today – 79, Tomorrow – 84, Wednesday – 79) After that, it’s rain and 60’s again. I plan to enjoy the next few days as much as I can. I get to wear a tank top and some shorts, for a change. I’ll even make some iced tea. You never know when the weather will change in Oregon. Enjoy it while it lasts.

– I received another letter from Miss Tae. She relayed how much boot camp sucks ass. What do you expect…it’s not Summer camp? I am sure she is fine. Oh, and she told me the bugs are huge! I remember the bugs in the south. Texas had huge bugs and spiders. ~shiver~ We are a bunch of wusses in Western Oregon. Our bugs/spiders are fairly small and the snakes are non-poisonous on this side of the mountains. I plan to sit down and write Tae a letter, later tonight. I miss my oldest daughter terribly. She has a fun sense of humor and it is lost while she is away.

– I wonder if I am getting arthritis in my right hand. For the past two weeks, the joints at the base of my index and middle finger are kind of painful. It kind of has a dull constant throb, mixed with sharper pain when I move them. It’s my right hand only. The funny thing is…I’m left handed. Arthritis does run in my family. I am not sure if it’s hereditary, but several family members have issues with it.

– The hand problem is starting to interfere with my knitting. I do still knit, but for shorter periods of time. I think I ripped out knitting more than any progress was made, over the weekend. I ripped out a sock and restarted it. I also ripped out a tank top that I just was not loving. I plan to knit for a bit this afternoon, out on the patio.

– I have a long “to-do” list for today. Mostly of the domestic variety. Things like, clean out the cat box, bake some cookies, do a load of hand wash and hang it outside to dry, vacuum the downstairs, etc. I have many things I would rather be doing…a nap. reading, knitting, generally being lazy. I can’t, though. Things to do…

– I am not sure why, but I slept terrible. It was a night of perpetual dozing. I did not lay down until almost 2am. I wasn’t tired and there’s no point going to bed if I know I will toss and turn. I dozed off and woke up at 3am. Dozed again and woke up at 4:30am. I heard Hubby’s alarm at 6am, etc. I did not sleep for more than an hour at a time. Not sure why.

– I don’t expect to see the youngest teen awake before 1pm. She was still awake when I was awake at 3am. Crazy kid. I am just too old to be up that late anymore. I remember the days where I would stay up all day and all night and function fine the following day. Not going to happen these days. My ass is dragging today as it is…

I am off to begin that “to-do” list. I may grab a nap later in the afternoon. I also need to work on my sock today. I will pop a pain pill for the hand. Toodles and Happy Monday, everyone.

Categories: cats, general, knitting, randoms
  1. June 21, 2011 at 7:47 pm

    Awww! That is so cute! I can’t believe she’s actually sleeping with her head on a pillow! LOL! I’m sorry to hear about your mini-roses! I know what you mean about the cool weather and the rain. We had about three weeks of seriously hot weather – that’s been about it so far (not that I’m really complaining, but it just seems unusual.) The rain has been almost non-stop since at least March. *shakes head*

    I’m glad to hear Tae is fine! I’m sure things will get a bit easier as time goes on – there’s probably a lot to adapt to. Have you thought about maybe trying to do some sort of video chatting or something when she gets out of boot camp? It might help. 🙂 And the bugs in the south? OMG YES. My uncle has spiders in his well house that are as big as my fist. When I walk down to feed his cats, I carry water with me. Not going in there. No way. O_o

    Sorry to hear about your hand! Could you have injured your fingers and just not realized it? I did that once with my ankle – I ended up with a bad sprain and didn’t even notice I did it until my ankle swelled up. 😦 Anyway, I hope you feel better soon! HUGS! ♥

    • June 21, 2011 at 10:21 pm

      I am not sure what is up with my hand. It does feel better today. I took a short break from knitting. My husband thinks it may be carpal tunnel. He has it from his job. Repetitive working, like knitting can cause it. So, I have no idea. I am just going with the flow, for now. It’s not bad, just annoying.

      Yes, Pixie loves her pillows. She has always slept on them. If it is on the floor, she will find it. The other day I caught her sleeping on my side of the bed, with her head on my pillow. She is a strange, strange kitty, I swear.

      I hope you are well. HUGS J!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

