Archive

Archive for June 10, 2011

A Look At Part Of My Home

The living room, where I spend 75% of my time...knitting or reading.

My townhouse-style  apartment is a small one, only two bedrooms and one bathroom. If I can say it’s 900 square feet of living space, I’d be pushing it. Most of the time, the smallness of my apartment doesn’t bother me. It is easier to clean and keep up with. The living room is the biggest space in the apartment and that’s not all that big. In the photo, to the left, I am standing at the stairs/wall to get the picture.

The two bedrooms are one of my complaints. There is a decent sized bedroom and a really small one. Not much room up there. When we first moved into this apartment back in July of 2005, Hubby and I took the larger bedroom and put both girls in the small bedroom. They had bunk beds and were mostly okay with this. As the girls got older…they wanted their own spaces. So, we switched bedrooms. The girls got the bigger bedroom and their bunk beds came apart, into twin beds.

Hubby and I spent almost four years in the smaller bedroom and I hated every moment of it. It was tiny, claustrophobic and just cramped. A queen-sized bed did not allow for more than a walkway around the room. I rarely spent time in the bedroom, only for sleeping. It sucked all around.

My oldest daughter left home late last week, to boot camp for the US Marines. Her stuff is all packed and stored in a few boxes in the closet. The youngest daughter decided that she wanted the smallest bedroom. It’s big enough for one person/child. I practically jumped at this chance…to get out of the tiny bedroom. Hell yeah!

Can you tell I love the color red?

We spent all day, last Saturday, switching the bedrooms and cleaning. It was exhausting, but worth it. I now reside in the larger bedroom. I can breathe.

As you can see, Phinn (the cat) doesn’t care what room he’s in, as long as his special white blankie is there…He has to have his blanket. I am so not kidding. He is a spoiled kitty cat, wouldn’t you say?

I really, really want to go to IKEA one of these days and buy a bed frame. You know, one with an awesome headboard? Some nice night stands and bookshelves, etc. I’ve never had nice bedroom furniture. Well, we decorated the rest of the apartment, the kids room included, all with IKEA furniture. My bedroom became the mix-match, leftover,  junk furniture for some reason. It has always been this way. An extra chair? Shove it in my bedroom. Don’t have space for this book shelf in the kids room? We have to stick in my room, etc. There is no rhyme or reason to anything in my room, other than the color of my bed spread. RED! My current night stand is a plastic 4 drawer thingy on wheels, that holds my yarn stash. The drawer thing used to hold all of the kids little toys back in the day. I try the best with what I have for now.

It’s time for grown up furniture!

My cluttered bookshelves. Books! One of my loves.

This is the opposite wall from the bed. Bookshelves! That is as neat as it gets. I got rid of soooo many books recently. These are what’s left. My favorite novels, series, etc. There are a few books downstairs on the living room shelf, but the rest of my books collection resides either on my laptop or on my Kindle.

I also got rid of a lot of stuffed animals. We kept two of my teddy bears, a stuffed dog that was Tae’s and the big brown bear that I gave to Hubs a few years ago. My shoes on the bottom, left. I downsized my shoes collection by at least half, so they would fit on the bottom shelf. I still have quite a few shoes. I have not actually counted how many pairs are housed on the shelf. I would have put the shoes all in the closet, but the larger bedroom has the smaller closet and we are pressed for space as it is. I had to go through my clothes to make them fit into the smaller closet. The unnecessary had to go.

I also kept all of Tae’s collection of National Geographics. All the bright yellow-ness. I am such a nerd, that I kept them. I love to read them, I admit it. I could not, in good conscience, throw them out.

Not shown in my bedroom photos are the two dressers along my side of the bed/wall. Also, not shown is the closet with a TV stand to the left of it. These areas are unfinished, a work in progress. I need to fix the bottom drawers of the dressers. Both of them refuse to close. Hubby need to take them apart and fix them. Also, the right side of the room has laundry in view. Two full baskets with laundry that I really need to catch up on. Yeah, yeah, I will.

So, this is my bigger bedroom…It still needs decorating help, but for now, I am just so thrilled to be in the larger bedroom. Have I already said that?

Categories: cats, domestic, general