Home > general, knitting, randoms, WIPs > Friday Randoms & WIPs

Friday Randoms & WIPs

I’m feeling quite random, this morning. I am sure my post will reflect that. Fair warning…

– It’s a holiday weekend. The unofficial beginning to the Summer season. Memorial Day. I was hoping for some warm, nice weather in Portland, for the weekend. It’s not going to happen, I don’t think. Upper 50’s and stormy showers does not inspire a “Summer feeling.” Allow me to complain…This Spring has been awful, for the most part, weather-wise. I am so sick of the chilly, rainy weather. It’s depressing. La Nina can kiss my ass. I am SO over it.  I want warmer weather. I have a new Summer dress that I want to wear. I haven’t worn it yet, because it’s too cold still.

– Also, this allergy season has been one of the worst for me. I have no idea why. It’s a daily battle for me, even taking my allergy pills. It’s gotten to the point that my allergies are keeping my up at night. I haven’t been sleeping well for about 6 weeks now. I wake up, in the morning, to sneezing and dripping. Oh, then there is the itchy, watery eyes. It’s just ridiculous. I am usually okay once the tree pollen stuff passes. I am counting the days. Well, then there is the “mowing of the grass” in my immediate area. I can deal with that, though. That lasts for a few hours to a day. Maybe I need to try a new allergy pill?

– I really should be cleaning up the apartment this morning. Again, I am procrastinating. I tend to do that a lot. Company is coming over for the weekend. They aren’t arriving here until the evening. So, I have some time. I will make the oldest daughter help me clean. It’s her friend that is coming to stay the weekend. She’s visiting from Washington/UW. Tae wanted to see her best friend once more before she leaves for boot camp in June.

– I finally bought AA batteries for my digital camera. I know, it’s about time. I will now limit my cell phone pictures. Yay!

– I haven’t knitted anything in over 2 days. Shocking, I know. I was having a little break from knitting. I have been busy doing other things, actually. I will probably pick up the knitting later today, sometime. Sometimes my fingers and wrists need a little time off. I haven’t shared any WIPs pictures in a while. I took a few photos this morning. Excuse the poor lighting. The gloom outside is not great for photography. My apartment is dark this morning…Now for some pics.

Since we rearranged the living room last weekend…I have a new knitting corner, next to the couch. The basket holds my current WIPs. It’s a bit of a mess, I admit. I simply can’t keep the area neat. Luckily my cats leave the yarn, knitting, basket alone.

The Birch Leaf Shawl is still coming a long. It just doesn’t seem to look any bigger than my last photo of it. I only knit on the shawl when I have quiet and the time to concentrate. I have to count stitches. I can’t watch TV or listen to music while knitting the shawl.

I am designing a sock at the moment. I have had to restart this particular sock 5 times already. I think I finally have the right combination of yarn and needle size. I haven’t gotten very far in the actual knitting portion of the design. US # 1 needles doesn’t seem to progress the sock as much. Smaller stitches, I guess.

Finally, an easier knit project. I began the Sage Remedy Top with my Knit One Crochet Too Wick yarn, recently. Right now, it’s all stockinette stitch. I usually watch TV or listen to music while knitting on the top. The color of the yarn is not that bright. I had to use the flash on my camera to get the photo to turn out. The color is called “ocean.” It appears turquoise in the photo, but it’s more of a real blue color.

Lastly, the final WIP, not shown, is the Cable Car Coat. I haven’t knitted on the cardigan in weeks. For shame! It’s buried in the bottom of my knit basket. I will finish it…eventually. I didn’t photograph it due to my laziness of having to dig it out, etc.

I apologize for the long entry. If you have managed to read this entry to the end. I thank you. I hope you have a fabulous weekend. I hope the weather is very nice where you are. I’m jealous! Happy Friday. 🙂

Categories: general, knitting, randoms, WIPs
  1. J
    May 27, 2011 at 4:12 pm

    I know what you mean about Spring. It’s been weird. We’ve had some hot days, but at the same time, it was chilly enough today that I needed a long-sleeved shirt on outside. Never had to do that this close to June.

    Sorry to hear about the allergies! My eyes got so bad last summer, I ended up at the eye doc’s, thinking I had scratched my eye. UGH! I hope you get to feeling better soon! ❤

    Knitting! Love the shawl, and that BLUE! So pretty! I'm trying to get back into knitting myself after a VERY long break. I need the stress release… *sigh*

    HUGS! ♥

    • May 27, 2011 at 4:45 pm

      We have had a few warm days here and there. They are short lived and then it turns back to cold for a week or more. It’s depressing. Not much of a Spring to work with. The only thing I’m getting out of it, is the allergies. I am crossing my fingers that Summer will be a good one. Last year’s Summer was crappy. Short and cool.

      The rivers are all high here, near flood stage. Snow melt from the Cascades so late in the season and the rain is not helping. Just crazy weather.

      Glad you are knitting again. It is a stress release for me too, to knit. I always need a test knitter if you are interested. 😀

  2. troismommy
    May 27, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    Pretty projects! 🙂 My allergies have been HORRID. I think the weather is partly to blame.

    • May 28, 2011 at 9:46 pm

      La Nina is at fault, according to the weatherman. It has been making the weather across the country, crazy.

  3. troismommy
    May 28, 2011 at 10:14 am
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

